NASA and SpaceX launch climate science research mission to space station

0


NASA and SpaceX launched a cargo resupply mission to the International Space Station (ISS) on Thursday, carrying out important science experiments, including a new device to help researchers model the effects of climate.

A SpaceX Dragon resupply spacecraft launched on a Falcon 9 rocket at 8:44 p.m. Eastern time (0044 GMT) Thursday from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida, carrying more than 5,800 books of science experiments, crew supplies and other cargo.

It is expected to autonomously dock with the ISS around 11:20 a.m. Eastern Time (1520 GMT) on Saturday, and remain there for about a month.

Among the science experiments delivered to the space station, a new device, called Earth Surface Mineral Dust Source Investigation (EMIT), will help scientists better understand the role of airborne dust in heating and cooling the Earth. ‘atmosphere.

The EMIT mission, developed by NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Southern California, uses NASA imaging spectroscopy technology to measure the mineral composition of dust in arid regions of Earth.

It aims to deepen researchers’ understanding of these fine particles of soil, silt and clay from Earth’s deserts and, ultimately, how they affect climate, according to NASA.


Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.